Chemistry Club

The Chemistry Club (also known as the Hydrogen Club, or H-Club) is Sewanee’s undergraduate student chapter of The American Chemical Society. It is open to all students with an interest in chemistry and increasing awareness of science in our community. Each year, the pinnacle event for the club is the annual Demonstration Show which allows students to showcase both their chemical knowledge and theatrical abilities. The Chemistry Club has been honored with certificates of achievement for their yearly activities by The American Chemical Society (ACS) for the last two years. The current club president is Maggie Hudson, senior Chemistry major. Vice-presidents are juniors Nate Chapman (Biochemistry) and Ava Conner (Chemistry). The secretary and treasurer are Simey Emerson (Biology) and Sara Parks (Chemistry), sophomores. Junior English major Leah Terry is the current publicity chair.  Student leadership has been strong for the last several years, and the club has worked with local schools such as Monteagle Elementary, South Middle School, and Pelham School to engage and entertain young children with activities and learning programs. Due to the dedication and hard work of these talented students, faculty advisor Bethel Seballos was recognized as an official ACS Chemistry Ambassador in 2013 for improving public appreciation of chemistry through outreach. On April 3rd at 6:00 p.m., the community is invited into our home, Blackman Auditorium in Woods Laboratories, where our students take their introductory chemistry courses, to see chemistry on display live. Plan to stay until the very end for a sweet treat -- made using chemistry of course!